Ride to school, career and a tarp

This morning on the way to school we were listening to the radio and the question of the day was, "What would be the first thing you would do if you won the lottery?" And you know Jacob has a response…..

He said, "I would buy a riding lawn mower, a shot gun and a tarp."

So then I think " A riding lawn mower – duh! Riding lawn mowers are his passion, weird – but okay…should have named him John Deer, A shot gun, well he is being raised in a rural red neck community as well as a gun owning/ proud to bare arm republican father and a military minded/COD playing brother, of course he wants a shot gun. But wow… that tarp makes me nervous, I’m pretty sure there is chapter in each mafia bosses memoir’s that tell of the need for a tarp for a quick clean up.

Seeing that it is career week at his school, I thought it would be good parenting to ask about the tarp, it’s my duty as a parent to make sure my 10 year old son is not considering a career as a crime boss.

"Jacob, why do you want a tarp?"

"To put over my fort to keep the rain out.’

My heart started to beat again, my sweaty pits began to dry, all is right with the world – Jacob is not considering a career in crime.

Carry on.

1 Response to “Ride to school, career and a tarp”


  1. 1 Dina March 28, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Thanks for the smile. I’m relieved with you!
    Love you Michelle…Dina


Leave a Reply

