Back to School 2011 – 2012

“For you bless the righteous, O LORD: you cover him with favor as with a shield”. Psalm 5:12

On Monday morning before I woke the kids for their first day back to school I read this verse and it was my prayer for each of my children for the day, as well as the school year to come. “you cover him with favor as with a shield”, this spoke to my mother’s heart as I see so may ways the enemy seeks to destroy those the Lord loves and calls his own.  I rest assured knowing his favor is shielding them.

Seeing as this is Big Brother’s senior year and I spent all summer teary-eyed, I figured I would be a boo-hooing mess when the first day of school rolled around.  Strangely enough, I was good…. get back with me in May…..

Big Brother turned 18 this summer, has big plans for his future, loves the little siblings, plays too many sports, makes me super proud on most days, and on rare days I want to punch him in the face.  I love this kid and I am so glad he is my kid!

Little Brother turned 10 this summer and is now a 4th grader, ask Little Sister not to acknowledge him at school, request to do his homework this year in the fort he built this summer,  was a crying mess when he was supervised  by Big Brother this summer in lawn mowing skills, which made me want to punch him in the face. I love this kid and I am so glad he is my kid!

Little Sister is 7 and started 2nd grade.  She is still letting me hold her hand and walk her to her class on the first day of school, cries for Big Sister when she gets really tired, taught by her older brother’s that farts are really funny (ugh!), and has become too picky about her clothing which makes me want to punch her in the face.  I love this kids and I am so glad she is my kid!

Big Sister is 19 and is half way through a three-month stay in Cambodia.  Currently recovering from Typhoid, ate frog then decided not to eat anymore meat while in Cambodia, has increased her mad photography skills, and still get frustrated with my advice (over Skype even!) which makes me want to punch her in the face.  I love this kid and I am so glad she is my kid

These are my kids, they do so many things to make me proud that I over-look the things that make me want to punch them in the face.  I love these kid, I am glad these are my kids and I am so blessed to know the Father’s favor shields them each day.

3 Responses to “Back to School 2011 – 2012”


  1. 1 JLo August 3, 2011 at 10:35 am

    this is hilarious.

    you want to punch a lot of people in the face these days.

    remind me to wear headgear.

  2. 2 Stephanie August 3, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    I was about to say…Michelle maybe you should take an anger management class. It’s just not Christ-like to punch people in the face.

  3. 3 Debbie August 5, 2011 at 9:54 am

    spoken like a true momma!! your kids are just beautiful. so is your whole family. i know you’re so proud. 🙂


Leave a Reply

