When Things Go Well

You know your day has potential 0f going well when a curly, blond headed, two year old by the name of Annie Love shows up on your door step at 8:00 a.m.  (Yes, that is her real name – Annie Love). annie love

Annie and mommy had a few things to do today and a stop by my house was the first.  It was nice to enjoy my coffee with these girls this morning. 

Things could go well this day.

I had a lunch meeting with Kristie, our team leader in charge of finances with Young Moms today.  My task with Young Moms today was to persuade  Kristie that the quote I got on tee shirts is a worthy expense.  I had all my reasons down pat – I got into salesman mode – I was ready to make my pitch!kristie

I know what you are thinking – you are thinking that Kristie looks like a real nice person and that I could easily make my sale.  Wrong!  Not wrong about being a real nice person – she is very nice, patient and soft-spoken (so soft I need to listen more closely when she speaks).  I asked Kristie to handle the  finances with Young Moms in spite of those great qualities.  I asked her because she is very organized and can very kindly tell you no.  This needs to be done often in a non-profit organization.

Kristie got right to the point at lunch.  I had emailed her the quotes and what we had spent in the past, so she was prepared with an answer.  In her soft-spoken voice, she kindly informed me that the quote we received would work with our budget; it would be fine to place the order.

I like when things go well.

final young moms logo

(Young Moms is non-profit organization for teen mothers that was started three years ago.  I will blog about that in a few weeks.)

All that business aside, it was time to get my much neglected hair cut.  Since moving to Rome 6+ years ago, I have been using the same girl, Keri.  I like Keri a great deal.  We’ve become friends.  In the 6+ years that I have been going to her, she has had several life-altering experiences: marriage, a child, a child, a separation, JESUS, and a reconciliation with her husband.  It has been a blessing to go have my haircut and hear what is going on, especially the last few years since Jesus has come into her and her husband’s lives.  I often have tears when I get my haircut.

But – Keri does not work at a cheap salon.  So, last year when I needed to cut cost after Secret Agent Man was laid off, I had to find another to cut my hair. I informed her and told her I would be back when things turned around.  Since Secret Agent man is now gainfully employed once again I was glad to return to her.  We had a great visit catching up and I once again have a great haircut, but the best part…. The cost – Free!!!  It was her gift to me as a welcome back.  She said she had been waiting for me to come back so that she could do that for me!  Again – tears

Did I tell you I really like when things go well?

Today Secret Agent Man asked me if I had plans for tomorrow.  There is a Monet exhibit at the High Museum in Atlanta that he would like to take me to while the kids are in school.  He knows I am a fan of Monet.monet 1Iclaude-monet 2

Things went well today – I am going to be optimistic and think that they will go well tomorrow, but even if it does not I remain grounded in the faith knowing that Jesus is purposeful in it all – well or not.

8 Responses to “When Things Go Well”


  1. 1 ( Gail ) Mom August 18, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    You are amazing, you make me cry, you make me laugh, but most of all, you make me thankful, that you are my daughter, I truley love reading your blogs 🙂

  2. 2 Kelly August 19, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    I heard that you had lunch with some of my favorite people, so I’m assuming today is going just has well as yesterday. Love it when that happens! I hope Monet is great!

  3. 3 Debbie August 19, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    how thoughtful of brad! and how sweet of your hair dresser! wow, things are really in your favor these days!!! 🙂

    someone knew you needed a slight pick-me-up with all the kids being in school. xoxo

  4. 4 Vicki August 20, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    That is so sweet that she gave you a free haircut! Wow! So sweet…

  5. 5 lizzie August 26, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    Can’t wait to see more blogs about Young Mom’s. Love and miss you!

  6. 6 midenianscholar August 30, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    That sounds wonderful!

    A Money exhibit!! That sounds like much fun. 🙂

  7. 7 Ada May 5, 2010 at 9:06 am

    nie umiem po angielsku


  1. 1 Almost Famous « lassoing the chaos Trackback on October 27, 2009 at 4:40 pm

Leave a Reply

